Maple Sugaring

Over the weekend I received my package of spouts for tapping my maple trees to make syrup.  I ordered them online from Bascom Maple Farms, a company out of New Hampshire, though you can find them from plenty of suppliers online.  I decided on IPL Health Spouts because you can hook tubing up to it and run it into a bucket on the ground.  I have several maple trees that are big enough I can put more than one tap in them so my plan is to run tubing from each spout into one bucket.  I’m hoping that during the height of the sugar run that 2-3 spouts running into a five gallon bucket won’t overflow.  In another week or so I will tap the trees and I will be collecting sap for 4-6 weeks, until the leaf buds start to open.  Below is a picture of spout I ordered.  If this works well I will probably by some stainless steel spouts for future use, which will last longer than these spouts probably will.

IPL Health Spout

IPL Health Spout

I’ve never done this before so I am excited to try it.   In another week or so I will tap the trees and I will be collecting sap for 4-6 weeks, until the leaf buds start to open.

One thought on “Maple Sugaring

Leave a Reply

