Birthday Weekend

Saturday was my 27th birthday.  I didn’t do anything around the house most of the weekend, but that was mostly because we got another 5 inches of snow on Friday.  But on Saturday I went and picked up a Singer Treadle Sewing machine that I had saw on Ebay Classifieds for $25 (quite a steal, really- I checked out Craigslist and there were several similar on there for $250+).  Turned out to be made in 1934 and still in very good shape.  The elderly lady I bought it from said that she used it to make all of her daughter’s clothes, but she was moving out of her townhouse and needed to sell a lot of stuff.  After getting that home I went and sold some antiques and pottery that I had purchased at auction a while back to a small store that buys/sells that kind of stuff.

I was buying stuff when I was laid off to eventually sell at the flea market or online, but since going back to work I haven’t been able to go to the auction and continue getting stuff.  I made a small profit on the items I sold but I was hoping they would buy all of the stuff I had so I wouldn’t have to worry about it anymore.  It surprised me what items they were interested in (like some chinese made wooden toys) and which they passed by without a second thought (like some prints from a famous artist whose name escapes me at the moment).  So I will have to find someone else who might be interested in the rest.

Sunday we went to the “My Furry Valentine” pet adoption event, which is where Heather had adopted our dog Cooper at last year.  We wanted to go talk to the rescue and tell them how he is doing.  I made sure to tell Heather before we got there that she is NOT allowed to sit on the floor and let any animals curl up in her lap this year, which was the moment last year that I knew we would be going home with a new little plott hound puppy.  He has grown to be an annoyingly needy 55 pound wannabe lap dog, who is jealous if Zoe, the almost 13 year old plott hound mix, or Alexis, the cat, is getting the attention instead of him.  And his favorite toy lately has been his food bowl, which I have to admit is kind of cute when he sits looking like a little beggar, as in the picture below.

Cooper

After eating some pizza for lunch we went to Home Depot for some more tubing so I can finish tapping the maple trees.  I also picked up a bunch of wood off their bargain cart, which was 70% off.  Mostly I got some 2x4s that are slightly bowed, or on a couple of the 16′ 2x4s the last 2-3′ were bent but the rest was fine.  The plan is to use them along with the free lumber I got a couple weeks ago to frame up the chicken coop and woodshed.  Now I just need to find some cheap/free siding and roofing to finish it all off (let me know if have any sources for those).

Today it is back to the grind and the dreadful hour-each-way commute that I have every day.  I like my job but HATE the commute, so even though it looks like they will hire me on when my 3 month contract is up at the end of the month, I am still looking for something closer to the house.  Look for a post about “What I Want to be When I Grow Up” that is soon to come.

Until later…

Chuck (away)From the Rural Side

 

Leave a Reply

