Spring Is Here!!!

Spring officially starts right now!  12:57pm March 20, 2014. The weather has been more spring like lately, which has been a welcome relief from all the snow we had this winter.  The forecast is looking good for being able to get my garden cleaned up and ready to plant.  My seedlings from the first round of planting are continuing to grow with the peppers just starting to sprout.  I planted a second round of seeds this week, including some spinach, lettuce mix, head lettuce, romaine lettuce, and others I can’t think of right now.  I still have a few things that I want to start in the next week or so, with the rest of the seeds being things that will be sown directly in the garden.

I noticed yesterday that I have flowers about to bloom on the West side of the house.  If you needed a sign of spring coming these are it.  Snowdrops and crocuses are both about to open up.  The daylilies around the pond have also started popping up, along with a lot of other things.  I need to draw out my landscape and write where everything is at so that 1- I don’t get rid of anything I want to keep and 2- so that I know what I have coming up at a particular time of year.

Snowdrops

Snowdrops

Crocus About To Bloom

Crocus About To Bloom

I like to have an array of colors in the ornamental gardens at any time of the year so having things that are in bloom at different times is important.  We had a pretty good assortment last year and I hope to expand on it in the coming years.

Happy Spring!

Chuck From the Rural Side

Leave a Reply

