Finished Sugaring

I am officially done making maple syrup for this year.  I was away again this past weekend and when I came home on Sunday I had almost no sap in any of my buckets.  And when I looked at the trees they have buds opening already.  Not much sap has come out of the trees since we had a 75 degree day a couple weeks, where the nighttime temperature stayed at about 50.  I questioned whether it was something I did wrong or if the sap run really is that fickle- turns out it really is the nature of the sap run.  So my total for the year is 68 ounces of syrup, which I saved one jar for myself and the rest was sold.

Leave a Reply

