Weekend Recap

This weekend was supposed to be very busy for me.  With Heather out of town, I hoped to get a lot of work done.  I had a to-do list made out and everything.  Only three things from that list got done, though.  Friday night I cleaned the chicken coop and organized it to make room for the free freezer I picked up that will be used to store feed.  Saturday, I washed a load of laundry and hung it on the clothesline before going and working at the CSA building shelves.  After getting back home, I started cleaning the veggie garden, finishing on Sunday afternoon.  That’s it.  That was all I got accomplished this weekend.  I’m not complaining, though.  I didn’t work real hard, didn’t strain myself.  Sometimes you need that.  Sometimes being out in the garden, pulling weeds, raking debris, lazily spending a day in the sun is all you need to feel refreshed, rejuvenated.

Sunday I really needed that as I woke up with a bad headache.  First I had tried sleeping it off.  After waking up again at 11:30 I didn’t want to waste the whole day in bed so I got up, ate some breakfast, drank a pop and started working outside.  Whatever combination of those things helped my headache to go away.  I used the mower to mow down some weeds before they go to seed and the covercrop of rye grass in the garden.  All of the cornstalks, sunflower stalks and other debris from last year that were left in the garden were put into the compost pile.  Sunday evening there was a potluck dinner for the CSA to go over the upcoming season with the workshare members.  The workshare is for those who would like to spend some time working in the gardens of the CSA in exchange for a discount on the cost of their share.  After the dinner I went to pick Heather up from the bus-stop downtown and we headed home.  And that was my weekend.

 

 

Leave a Reply

