First Plantings

After tilling on Tuesday evening, I started planting some of the vegetables that are more cold tolerant Wednesday and Thursday evenings.  If a heavy frost comes a lot of what I planted would probably die so I didn’t plant anything   I planted about a dozen different things in short rows to get a start and about forty feet of potatoes.  I’m trying to remember everything that I planted, but here is a list of what I can remember:

  • Potatoes – Red skin and Yukon Gold
  • Spinach
  • Lettuce Mix
  • Radishes
  • Kale
  • Chard
  • Beets
  • Kohlrabi
  • Carrots
  • Romaine Lettuce

I think I missed a couple but it’s a good start.  The only issue is that I forgot until I was a few rows in that I was going to do everything as square foot gardening this year.  So I decided to do a test on my garden to see which way works best for me in the garden- traditional row gardening or square foot gardening.  I inadvertently started a few other gardening methods to test- one area I put annual rye on as a cover crop (ran out so the whole garden didn’t get covered), another area has leaves from last fall where I am basically doing the Ruth Stout method, while the final area has neither of those.  I’m interested to see which area does best, although I may not actually plant each type of veggie in each section to compare, I haven’t decided yet.

Leave a Reply

