Leaving The Rural Side…

And headed back to my hometown in Northwest Ohio.  The end of May I had one major life change, my girlfriend of two+ years, Heather, and I broke up.  A couple weeks later I was sick for a few days and the company I was at decided to let me go.  Although I couldn’t help being sick, I guess it was the last straw in our sometimes strained work relationship.  I was tired of the racist, homophobic, sexist, overall bigot that the owner is and his constant spouting off on all things that he saw wrong with the world to the entire office.  And they were tired of me getting to work late, which happened a couple times a week and was mostly caused by traffic, but also because it really wasn’t a place I wanted to go everyday so I was unwilling to leave the house earlier.  One reason being that I wouldn’t have been allowed to leave early if I got there any earlier, they were a strict 8-5 with an hour lunch, not leaving early and not deviating at all from their schedule.  I wasn’t used to that coming from an architecture background where most offices offered some flexibility in scheduling.  Not working led to me not writing here as much.  I usually wrote my posts on my lunch break.

So now I am headed back home to work for a construction company that I worked at for a while after I graduated college.  They do steel stud construction, drywall, insulation and suspended ceilings.  While it is a cut in pay from what I could make in an architecture office, I am not wanting to go back to working in an office.  I have found I am much happier doing physical work.  My body has been happier not sitting at a desk all day as well and I am down about 12 pounds since early June.

Most of the chickens will be going to a friend’s house with Heather deciding to keep a couple.  The rabbits will stay here under Heather’s care for a while as well because she really likes them and I don’t have a place to put them yet.  Heather decided to continue renting her room and rest of the house for a while, so I won’t be selling the place yet.  There is a slim chance I may end up back here.  In reality I will continue to fix the place up and put it on the market possibly as soon as this fall but most likely next spring.  Without having to put about 15k into a new roof I only expect to get my money back.  If I do some of the renovations I have been thinking about (adding a second floor if it is possible, changing the floor plan, new siding, new deck, new windows and doors) making it at least a 3 bed 2 bath from its current 2 bed 1 bath I could probably recoup the investment in a higher sale price.  However that requires money I don’t have at the moment.

So the path I am on has cleared a little bit, though the future is still somewhat foggy.  I am sad to leave this place.  I plan on coming back every 2-3 weeks to do work and hopefully harvest some stuff from the garden, which has only produced an abundance of headaches and beans so far.  I was able to harvest some chard, tomatoes are just starting to take off, potatoes could be dug for fresh eating or left in the ground for winter storage, corn is maybe trying to grow, and most of the rest of what I planted didn’t fare well.  I did get a dozen blueberries, 1 cherry and a few raspberries this year.

My posts will probably be few and far between for the foreseeable future.  I hope to keep up on the goings on around other bloggers farms and gardens, if I manage to spend more time on the computer then I have been.  It has been great getting to know some of you through your writings and pictures.

Until another time,

Chuck From the Rural Side

One thought on “Leaving The Rural Side…

  1. “There are no roads that do not bend…” – Kate Wolf, from her song, “Times We’re Living In”. ‘Nuff said.

    Best of luck to both you, and Heather. I give you both an old Irish blessing:
    *May the road rise up to meet you.
    *May the wind always be at your back.
    *May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    *and rains fall soft upon your fields.
    *And until we meet again,
    *May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

Leave a Reply

