Tiny House Conundrum

On my previous post about Tiny Houses a commenter said they could live in a tiny house, but would need a 1000sf shop to go with it. This is something that I have put a lot of thought into myself while considering a tiny house. Saying that I live in a tiny house, but have a much larger space on my property, that I work in and occupy on a regular basis, seems like it defeats the purpose. Add in the fact that I want to have animals, who need their own spaces and I could be up to a few thousand square feet of space that is enclosed. Reasons for going tiny, including a smaller ecological footprint and using less building materials seem to be contradicted by adding other buildings into the mix. This is my tiny house conundrum. What is the solution?

After thinking about it for quite a while, the solution was quite simple. There is no rule of tiny living that says you can’t have other places. The shop and buildings will serve a purpose. They will be my place of employment. They will be protection from predators and they elements for the animals I raise. But what about reducing my footprint or using less materials? Reduce, reuse and recycle seem to be the solution that issue. Reducing the size to a minimum by pasture raising animals and building only what they need to keep them safe and healthy. Reusing materials that are found or repurposed. Recycling downed and dead trees into usable lumber with a portable sawmill and using that material to build with. With any luck I would be able to use some of this lumber in my shop as well to create things to sell. Or maybe another tiny home enthusiast could use the wood to build their own home?

The conclusion I have come to is that there are no hard and fast rules when it comes to living tiny. While the core principles of the tiny house movement are important, we shouldn’t limit ourselves and our dreams if we can still stick those principles while striving to achieve our goals. I think we need to remember and consider those principles every step along the way, no matter what we are doing in our lives. Building a tiny house is step along the right path, but there are other obstacles that we still need to overcome. Although we might live in a tiny space, we can still do big things!

Chuck, From the Rural Side

One thought on “Tiny House Conundrum

Leave a Reply

